LegacyGT.com

interior dome light

zimbonies

Hello there! Newbie here --

I have a question regarding the interior dome light on my Subaru Legacy GT.

I would like the dome light to stay on for 10 or 15 seconds *after* I turn the car off. My '01 Impreza RS had this feature and I really miss it (since I live in the North East, it's always dark here and I need to find my hat and gloves before I go in the house!).

I contacted my local dealer and they want to make an appointment for them to do it. I figured that somebody here will be able to help....

Thank you in advance!

Jim

P.S. I've been able to adjust the 'Fasten Seat Belt' light and bell thanks to this forum! Thank you!

I believe that's a setting you can change. Your owners manual has a table of all the adjustable settings and how you go about changing them. I believe the table is in the first chapter. Oh yeah... I forgot to mention that this table will also tell you if that feature must be changed by the dealer or not.

Brian

legacy_y_tu -- thank you for the quick response.

Yes, I saw this part of the owners manual, but if I'm not mistaken, that is to change how long the light stays on after hitting the remote keyless entry button or if a door is opened.

"The light switch has three positions:

1. The light stays on continuously.

2. Middle position: The light comes on when any door is opened. The light remains on for several seconds and gradually goes out after all doors are closed or if the key is inserted in the ignition switch. The light also can be turned on by use of the remote

keyless entry transmitter. See the Remote keyless entry system (if equipped) in chapter 2 for detailed information. The setting of the period for which the light stays on can be changed by a SUBARU dealer. Contact the nearest SUBARU dealer for details.

3. The light stays off."

I would like the light to stay on for a few seconds after I turn the car off.

Thanks!

Jim

Doesn't that happen when you open the door and shut it?