LegacyGT.com

Legacy Wagon versus outback, differences?

I am new to Subaru, but I am going to buy either a 2005 Legacy GT wagon or a 05-07 outback XT. I know I want a manual transmission and the turbo (which I belive is 05 only for the Legacy Wagon) .

Other than the ride height is there any difference in thes cars? Specifically is the interior any different on the Legacy?

Thanks for the help, this will be my fist Subaru when I buy it (and actually my first foreign car all together).

I could be wrong, but I think the rear differentials are different and different final drive ratios (again, could be wrong). I also thought the suspensions and associated parts were beefier.

I'd be curious to here a more substantial answer on this, as I've thought about an Outback.

I could be wrong, but I think the rear differentials are different and different final drive ratios (again, could be wrong). I also thought the suspensions and associated parts were beefier.

I'd be curious to here a more substantial answer on this, as I've thought about an Outback.

Yes, except, i'm not sure about beefier.

The outback has tiny brakes. The legacy doesn't.

The legacy has better and more aftermarket suspension options.

Fender flares look sweet though.

I thought the Outback had a typical treatment to vehicles that do more off-roading such as heavier duty hubs & struts and maybe more rugged Axles/CV joints. This is pure assumption on my part....i simply thought it was built to take more beating off-road than the Legacy.

I couldn't find anything one way or another on a quick google search, so feel free to edmucate me.

Joe

Outback has different suspension(only one aftermarket kit im aware of megan racing)

smaller brakes same as a Legacy 2.5i (can pick up stock LGT calipers and rotors and then be all set)

different fog lights

fender flairs

different rear bumper cover(makes it harder to get after market exhaust)

Heated seats in cloth models with the XT(xt = turbo)