LegacyGT.com

Is a 2005 Outback turbo a good idea?

AndrewZ

Hey guys,

I'm thinking about picking up this car in a few days:

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp;?tracktype=usedcc&searchType=21&pageNumber=0&numResultsPerPage=50&largeNumResultsPerPage=0&sortorder=descending&sortfield=PRICE+descending&certifiedOnly=false&criteria=K-|E-|M-_45_|B-16000|D-_2996_|N-N|R-30|I-1%2c7|P-PRICE+descending|Q-descending|Z-60047&aff=national&paId=296203682&recnum=3&leadExists=true

I've never driven a Subaru. I've been driving a decently modified Volvo for the past 5-6 years (ecu, forged internals, water injection, sway bars, struts & springs, etc) and she's finally kicked the bucket. I want something fun, useful, reliable, quick, all wheel drive and manual. That wagon is at the absolute limit of my pricerange and seems to fit the bill.

Are 05 Outback turbos reliable? And does this one look like the one to get? I think so and want a heads-up just incase. I know my way around a wrench (or a racecar), are there things I should look for on the car?

And FYI I'll probably keep that one virgin, except for maybe bushings etc. It looks like a gem to me in the pics, do you agree?:wub:

I'm not at all familiar with these cars so I'd really appreciate any advice and am getting excited. Also what type of fuel do these cars like?

Thanks,

Andrew

Update:

I've been looking around and there aren't any manual legacies in the area, unfortunately.

I see that the LGTs have bigger brakes. I'm having a hard time figuring out the differences between the LGT and OBXT ltd suspension.

I'm looking at this car on Saturday. Are there specific spots to look for things like oil leaks, worn intake hoses and the like?