LegacyGT.com

Audio Mods for Subaru Outback 2005

phildog33

Hey guys,

Finally after months on the classified sections and autotrader.. I finally got a 2005 Outback XT. Really happy with it, all black, beautiful etc.

I am an acoustic consultant, in the architectural and studio/theater design world and I am a real sound lover in my car, home, my own studio, etc. And understand the ins and outs of tuning, good gear, etc.

Can you guys help me purchase some great gear for this car, and fit me out right. Through browsing the forums it looks like:

** Keep Stock HU, because you cant replace

** Speakers -- Polk DB650 and DB6500 or Boston Acoustics SL60 (BETTER)

** Subwoofer -- JL Audio Stealth Box

** Amps --- ???

** Cabling -- ???

** Location for above -- in rear under tray

** ETC -- Dynamat for internal acoustics

** DSP -- RF 3Sxity,2 or Alpine PHX system until the JBL MS-8 comes out

** ALSO -- something in the cubby hole??

** IPOD HOOKUP

** Tune and calibrate acoustics

Any hardware mods to the car which are not overkill, but well worth it?

Thanks for any advice you can offer, Id like to start ordering equipment

And if anyone knows someone in the NYC area that can do the install.. would be great

Thanks

Phillip

If you don't have NAV, you can put a radio in the cubby space above the stock radio. I used to do that when I didn't have NAV in my old 2.5i, and had an Eclipse 8053 there. My current car can't do that.

If you do have NAV, the 3Sixty.2 will work, but not as well as an aftermarket radio.

Amps, JL Audio 500/5. If you really want more power, go with something even more expensive, such as McIntosh or the like.