LegacyGT.com

Aftermarket parts voiding warranties?

zenfamily

I've seen that adding any type of aftermarket part will void the warranty (or at least coverage for parts that are affected). It has been my understanding that since the late 90's, manufacturers couldn't legally void warranties without proving that particular aftermarket parts could damage the vehicle.

Of course, I'm not a lawyer, but a reasonable explanation would be good to hear.

The dealers have to prove that the aftermarket part caused the problem in question like a boost controler set too high would cause a a turbo problem. The law stating that the dealers had to prove the cause was the parts(s) in question came about because dealers said things like your aftermarket suspention and different ride hight is the reason your sterio is maulfunctioning and the warranty is voided on it.

Most things like Exhaust and intake will not void a warranty. Boost Controllers and Fuel Computers probly will.

I am not clear yet as to the ECU remembering if it has been flashed. The audi's have a counter internally. The Eclipse's do not. I would believe that would be a checked item if something poertrain/Engine wise is going wrong.

Suspention, brakes, cat-back exaust, suspention, wheels and tires, body kits, and interior cosmetic parts only void the warrenties on the parts that are replaced. Access Port claims that their product is not detectable by Subaru.Sound systems are borderline because they can be done as long as you don't splice into the harness.

Hope this helps you guys out.

my dad is an independant wholesaler and hes actually friends with the guy (hes known him for like 20 years). but i dont know if thats gonna make a big difference, hes kinda a forigner (but i sure cant tell where from) and is clueless about car mods. but i figure thats my best shot? thats the only subi dealership thats kinda close to my house anyway

So a blow off valve would not void the warranty?