LegacyGT.com

Which DP????

bludool

I am very new to the subaru world. I have researched this site and several others but am not getting the info I am looking for, so here goes....

I have an 08 Outback XT and am headed to Portland next week to have Jarred at PDX put a Perrin DP and a custom dyno tune with a Cobb AP. My question is this... Is the Perrin catted DP the best out there? What about Cobb, AVO, Invidia. I have read the reviews but can't really tell which is "best". I recognize this is a rather expensive upgrade. I just want to make sure that I do it right from the start.

Thanks

Most people will say the Cobb DP is the best. Invidia, I think is up there as well. AVO design is good but people don't like the cat placement and a member who purchased a early AVO DP, said they were breaking at the point where the bellmouth attached.

My invidia catless is pretty awesome, especially quality-wise. The only problem I think most people have with it is that it's 3" flat-flange rather than the taper to 2.5" donut, so it's not specifically designed to mate to stock. It's cool, though. Having a shop cut and weld a flange to mate up isn't a big deal. I really didn't feel like paying the Cobb tax this time around.

Cobb goes from 3 inch to 2.5 inch to ensure, that you have no issues with stock donut gasket with the catback.

AVO and Invida is full three inch through and ultilize flat flanges.

AVO, Invidia and Cobb have cast bell mouths but the Cobb mouth is not divorced like its two competitor's models. Divorced bellmouth are supposed to help spool.

Cobb the cat is at the rear of pipe. AVO and Invidia, the cat is near the bell mouth. Having the cat closer to the turbo is more of a restriction. However, it lights the cat off faster, if your concerned with emissions.

AVO you can get the downpipe with a ceramic and metal cat. Cobb DP comes with a metal cat. I think Invidia catted pipe is ceramic but I'm not sure. Also, you can get the Invidia pipe with no cat.