LegacyGT.com

New Owner - 08 LGT Thoughts and Photo Slideshow

JoeFromPA

I'm no expert on embedding photos in the thread, so here's a link to the slideshow:

http://www.flickr.com/gp/25182881@N04/bBNs0s

Enjoy! It's only about ~10 photos....

My wife and I traded in her 2003 Saturn Ion 5-speed (57500 miles) on Saturday for a 2008 White Legacy GT 5-speed at Farrish Subaru in Virginia. We dealt with a forum supporter, A.K. Maloney, and it was a relatively smooth and only slightly painful process (anytime you sign your name to that much debt it just does not feel good).

A.K. took great care of us, which helped soothe the pain. I would definitely recommend him if you are in the VA area.

Anywho....the LGT is all stock except the Subaru all-season black floor mats (very nice interior contract) and an armrest extender (I thought it'd be just OK, but I love it! It was so nice as a passenger to have the elbow support). My wife and I have both driven it about 100 miles thus far (for 200 miles total) and it has been a blast. A ton of thoughts:

Overall:

Wonderful driving experience. The car feels compact, and, indeed, it is. It's narrower in the cabin than my 2006 Civic Si Coupe, with my 5'10 180 frame filling out the front seat completely. When properly adjusted, my knees are almost touching the dash. But the controls feel just right (albeit the shift lever falls a little beyond my resting grasp).

The seats are very comfortable, especially the driver's. The passenger seat lacks a little thigh support, but the driver's 8-way adjustments and lumbar support allow excellent flexibility. The bolstering feels spot-on perfect for this type of car, with just enough support to hold you.

It cruises effortlessly at 70. It was actually an effort to vary the speed by 10mph, as the car always seemed to want to stay at 70mph. Computer fuel economy was 24.6-24.9 for the entire drive back to PA.

Some specifics....

Engine