LegacyGT.com

on position, whine under the hood

sde

[quote name='Th3Franz']I get it nearly every time I start up. I usually switch the car to "ON" for a couple seconds and then start the engine.[/QUOTE] Now THAT is the fuel pump I believe.. I think we're talking about the sound you get with you leave the key in ON, but without starting the engine and listen under the hood. hmm.. maybe the coil packs? Does sound like high voltage.

[quote name='ChruiSSer']Thanks man. I'm actually a salesman at a Subaru dealership, so I'm pretty knowledgeable on these cars. Consiquently I'm ordering my GT tomorrow(monday). The only problem is what color.....It's been 2 weeks and I still haven't decided.[/QUOTE] a car salesman who knows something? OMG :lol: Just playin' man. Couldn't resist. :D

So it's not the FPR or ABS priming for operation? TBW would have some kind of solenoid or servo to make that kind of noise? Has anyone had a friend turn the key to the ON position while they themselves listened, "ear-down" over the various electronics to isolate where the noise is coming from? I'll definitely listen to the engine bay the next opportunity I get. SBT
- Pro amore Dei et patriam et populum -

Yup me and another salesman/buddy of mine did that to see where it came from. All the 05 do it becuase they are all ETC. haha I'll even laugh at that. I've only been doin sales for 3 months and I know more than the other guy who's been here for a year or so. It's tough to remember EVERYTHING about EVERY model and EVERY option that is available. And once you've got it down, they change it all for the next model year. haha