LegacyGT.com

Stage 2 Troubleshooting Thread - My pain = Your gain!

SlightlyEvil

I hit many roadbumps and spent a lot more time and $ then I should have along the way to a smooth running Stage 2 LGT.

I just wanted to share a few of the problems I encountered that were quite simple but didn't seem to have any topics/threads with solid answers yet regarding on the forum. I know some of it is covered elsewhere but it was always a hassle to search for it since it was so scattered. I hope someone out there can find this useful. Please feel free to add to this with your own experiences if you find it helpful.

Disclaimer: Obviously I'm not an expert at this, and you're taking your own car's health, and sometimes your life, into your own hands by working on it yourself. A lot of the time its worth getting someone else to do this work for you, especially if you don't feel safe doing it yourself for ANY reason.

When Upgrading to Stage 2 form you'll probably experience some of the following:

FINDING LEAKS:

Leaks were a huge pain in the ass to find. They're caused by a lot of things I learned, but thankfully they leave tell-tale traces. If you want to you can feel around the various joints for leaks while the engine is running. To do this it's best to let the car cool completely, start it, and let it idle. You have about 1 - 2 mins before the exhaust parts get hot enough to burn you. You can also try spraying a mix of soap/water around a suspected leak area - if it's leaking it'll bubble up. A less effective method I tried but couldn't get to work for me was blowing cig smoke around a suspected leak, I suppose this would work in a perfectly still environment with a lot of smoke, but it was sorta a pain for me. Additionally if you just take a look at the gasket or the area surrounding the gasket you'll see a lot of exhaust soot which will wipe off. If you see this soot outside the flange, you've got a leak! Hooray!

WIERD NOISES: