LegacyGT.com

Ok, help me out here guys. Vibration in the rain.

wcbjr

Only happens when it is raining, and is repeatable every time now.

Decelleration in 4th or 5th gear(high front-end load) creates a loud vibration I can feel in my seat, pedals, and steering wheel. Comes from the front passenger side of the car, sounds like from the wheel well. Definitely RPM dependent and goes away when the cars slows down enough. Drivability hasn't appears to change and this never happens when it is dry outside. No CELs, nothing else is wrong.

All I can think of is something with the tire, but maybe something with the ABS? I have no idea.

If mods need to move this, feel free. I wasn't sure where to put it.

I forgot what I was supposed to remember.

I'm not a Subaru expert (too new), but what that sounds like is your ABS is doing it's thing properly and something in the geometry/alignment/tire on the right front causes that tire to break loose easier than the front left.

Your comments that all else seems normal and that it goes away with reduced speed indicates you have a relative lack of traction at that corner in the wet - if you're braking hard the ABS will react only at that wheel if its appropriate.

How many miles do you have on your fronts? Is it time for a rotation/replacement?

Just some ideas from my Audi quattro days...

Good luck,

Pete

I guess I didn't quite explain well enough, my fault.

It's just decelleration, not braking. :confused: :confused: :confused: My foot is off the gas and the car is slowing down by itself, presenting a bit more load on the front tires.

I have a little bit more than Abe Lincoln's head left on the tires, 30k miles.

Maybe it's the diff?

The AWD system definitely works in the opposite way (Subaru recommends you leave it in gear when decellerating in snow to provide more stopping power). Could be your diff, but I can't imagine what about the rain would cause it to make that sound.