LegacyGT.com

Outback Basic 16" steel wheels for winter

baj

The silver-painted 16" steelies on the new '07 Outback 2.5i Basic look to me like a dandy choice for winter tires. Does anybody know how much these things cost? Unfortunately since they are new this year I expect the only way to get them is from a dealership.

Or, maybe a smarter question: how do I find out if wheels from some other Subaru model/year will fit my car? Bolt pattern, offset, centerbore, etc? I imagine some other Subaru 16" wheels could be had for a lot less than the new '07 Outback ones, but I don't know what fits what (I'm new to Subaru, but I know for instance that 15" WV Passat wheels are not the same as 15" VW Jetta/Golf wheels).

Or, maybe a smarter question: how do I find out if wheels from some other Subaru model/year will fit my car? Bolt pattern, offset, centerbore, etc? I imagine some other Subaru 16" wheels could be had for a lot less than the new '07 Outback ones, but I don't know what fits what (I'm new to Subaru, but I know for instance that 15" WV Passat wheels are not the same as 15" VW Jetta/Golf wheels).

http://www.cars101.com/subaru/tiresandwheels.html

Who Dares Wins

スバル

Thanks! That is a useful page.

So, it looks like the Outback wheels (and the 2003 Forester X steel wheels, which look suspiciously similar) have 48mm offset, while my Legacy's wheels have 55mm offset. Is this difference enough to worry about? The wheels are not the same width, but tire width would be the same in both cases.

I would have thought that the distance between the left and right hub faces would be the same on the Legacy and Outback, so I was a bit surprised that the offsets are different. But maybe the Outback's wheel well mouldings are the reason (wider body -> wider track).

I second the recommendation on getting used WRX rims. Look over on NASIOC.com especially on the local forums classifieds.