LegacyGT.com

ABS Saved my Bacon !!!

I do remember a thread a while back of people complaining about Subaru’s ABS system. Well just recently I was driving one of my favorite exits (a little fast)……but I had it all down when a city truck decided to do an illegal U-turn, and then cut across three lanes of traffic with out looking. Now I pride my self on being one of those drivers that don’t panic…I always leave my self a way out. But let me tell ya…this time I panicked. I thought my new subie was toast. But the ABS came on and the slight screeching noise made the driver of the truck cut the wheel allowing me to maneuver the car just between the truck and the curb. I had maybe about an inch or two amount of error space…..I still don’t know how my mirror made it though.

But all in all… the car performed flawlessly in a panic situation. Well that’s just my two cents……:icon_bigg

What do we not like about the ABS? I'm new to the legacy and haven't lit up the ABS yet so maybe I will find out soon enough. In my wife's 05 RS though I think it's fantastic. My last 2 cars (Sentra SE-R, Grand Vitara) the ABS would run for a cycle you had to wait through. Basically when it came on it was going to stay on for about 5 seconds during which you'd loose A LOT of braking force. In the RS it'll pulse on and off which is a 100x better.

On those earlier cars it was actually a liability to have ABS, put me into a few intersections in slippery conditions with my handbrake saving my ass...