LegacyGT.com

Install help: MA North Shore... Please!

sportwagon

INSTALL HELP PLEASE... NORTH SHORE

I HAVE...

Springs.... pink... I want to start thinking about finally installing them! They're STi Legacy springs and also cusco F/R sways... and they aren't making my garage handle any better... maybe they'll make my car handle better!

Anyone got a spring compressor and a day to kill? I live in Marblehead. I have a garage with tools and other necessities and would be willing to compensate anyone willing to help, or volunteer their time or expertise, in whatever way they might please (no sexual favors, unless you're a hot chick)... Beer, cash, parts... I'm a generous person!

If you are confident with the mod, but don't have a spring compressor... I'd rent one! I'm just too nervous to take on the task by myself, especially with my baby (that gets me to & from work)... I'm not a mechanical idiot, I'm fairly competant, I just have no experience with suspension modding, besides strut bars... but they don't count!

OR

Name of a good installer on the North Shore or Beantown that won't cost more than the springs themselves cost!

There are a couple of good garages in Marbledead. But I have had Peabody Sunoco do a lot of work on my 97 Subarus. They're very reasonable, but any business is going to charge $60+ an hour.

Otherwise, check the MechanX files on CarTalk. Don't you need to get the car aligned after the change anyway?

Who Dares Wins

スバル

Normally, I would volunteer to lend a hand, but timing is everything, and I have very little of it these days (with a day job and a startup company.) Still, I have done springs, struts, and sways on my old car, and they are not that hard. I used spring compressors from Autozone (free rental) although the second time I tried using them, they gave me the useless non-strut-style compressors... so if you get a set from them, make sure they are used on the outside of the spring, as the ones that go in the center are useless.