LegacyGT.com

07 Legacy Non-GT Passenger-Side Oil Pressure Sensor/Switch Torque requirement?

Hey y'all, how much force is required to remove the passenger side oil pressure sensor switch and, secondly...has anyone ever cracked the block just getting the sensor off?

I'm new to owning a Subaru, similarly new to owning Subi (she's been great and wonderfully receptive to tlc & repair!) and I've got a fairly moderate oil leak from the passenger side oil pressure sensor/switch that will.. from my estimates drain her dry in the span of three weeks without semi-regular top-offs.

So..once I get the clip off, how the heck do I get it off of there?! I've got a 24mm deep socket, torque wrench (HF 80lb max) and an extender as well as some pb blast if needed. It's not budging with regular ratchet and I seem to be making no headway with my breaker bar, either.

Anyway, thanks in advance. I'm just a bit..nervous given that I know over-tightening it can break the block, loosening shouldn't have that effect but I worry with just how much force it might need.

I plan to tighten to about 10lbs and slowly bump it up to 11 or 12 if problems persist -- assuming I can ever get it off I mean. 😋

The torque is low, Use some oil resistant teflon tape on the threads of the fitting and screw it in tight enough, not to tight, you can always snug it gently if needed.  It's tapered pipe threads.

YES, I have seen people crack the block.  Is this the sensor you are talking about ?

https://www.google.com/search?q=subaru+oil+pressure+sensor&rlz=1C1OKWM_enUS906US906&oq=Subaru+oil+pressure+sensor&gs_lcrp=EgZjaHJvbWUqBwgAEAAYgAQyBwgAEAAYgAQyBwgBEAAYgAQyBwgCEAAYgAQyBwgDEAAYgAQyBwgEEAAYgAQyBwgFEAAYgAQyCAgGEAAYFhgeMggIBxAAGBYYHjIICAgQABgWGB4yCAgJEAAYFhge0gEJODM2NGowajE1qAIAsAIA&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

DSCN4691.JPG

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here