LegacyGT.com

1999 legacy sus question...

Hello, I may be getting a 1999 legacy sedan sus 30th anniversary 2.5liter, automatic to repair...for free. 150,000, overheated. I'm a decent mechanic but horrible troubleshooter lol. I dont know alot about subarus but I have seen remarks here and there about good and bad motors, transmissions, etc. I would love some info on this car, like if it's a good one to save or not, good place to purchase gaskets, parts, etc. Do you think it is ok to drive for 30 miles home? No water in oil, was holding water idling to temp and then held temp for 20 minutes.

Thank you, appreciate your help and thoughts.

• 2 weeks later...

The '99 SUS is the same power/drive train as the '99 Outback, which is covered online more commonly. Also, this is technically a 2nd Gen model with some 3rd Gen parts.

The 4EAT is quirky in this year - 'delayed engagement' was one of its issues.

It's also the year Subaru transitioned to the Phase 2 Blocks (and trans) and kept the Phase 1 heads and electronics (mostly) (READ THIS), which means it's kind of unique (not in a good way).

As long it does NOT overheat on the way home it's OK to drive, IMHO. But what happens w/the EJ25D engine is an INTERNAL HG leak, which mixes the oil and water and ruins the rod end bearings around the crank...if you drive it repeatedly and overheat it a couple of times.

Parts can be bought lots of places. OEM MLS/ Multi-layer steel HG are recommended.

If it's a mid-west/NE car, expect to deal with RUST on anything exposed to....the air.