LegacyGT.com

Wiring harness redesign

boxkita

Is this tuning? I think so.

tldr; I want to make a minimal 4th gen wiring harness for the race wagon.

You were warned...

I'm finally in my last quarter of my Automotive Technology degree. I have one last class - Advanced Electrical. Because of covid, I'm a third year student in a two year program. So I'm already working at a dealership doing nothing that requires electrical expertise. The instructor has asked me to bring a project to class in return for accepting my dealership training as classwork.

The race wagon still sits in my shop, forlorn and neglected. One of my many projects for it, was to reduce the wiring harness to a bare minimum. Rather than strip the wagon down again, I removed the harness from fjuan's sedan (sorry). I'm using that harness, ecu, etc to create a new minimalist harness. i'll plug it back into the sedan to test before updating the wagon.

As my electrical/electronics knowledge is 30 years old at this point (fpga were new tech), I signed up for HP Academy's wiring courses during their recent anniversary sale. College class starts in a couple weeks. And I'm working on the dealership training for electrical as well. Kind a full immersion plan.

I havent the foggiest idea how to do all this, but I'd like to have a much cleaner engine bay than current when done. I know there are ppl on here with more skills than me. Feel free to chime in. If you have access to resources, I'm interested. Some of the tools & parts costs are eye-watering.

I finally got a working computer, so I'll load pics as I go.

I know I could contact a service and get this done without any hassle. But where's the fun in that? :)

Edited by boxkita

• 2 weeks later...