LegacyGT.com

Cobb vs EcuTek vs ?

Hello all,

Looking for advice on the better choice for a stage 1 tune.

I'm brand new to modding cars apart from cosmetics and this being my first Subaru I want to get it right.

2010 legacy GT 170kms

I'm the 2nd owner and the car was well maintained.

Im loyal to Shell v-power 91 and I have a heavy foot.

I know a few basics about engine mechanics but this is my first turbo.

What are the pros and cons of the various tune methods? I'm not a track guy but I enjoy my daily commute to work, looking to have a bit more fun.

Thanks

Sent from my Redmi 4X using Tapatalk

Well I have a Cobb stage 1 91oct ACN map tune through my AP. I have heard more good things about COBB then EcuTek. The stock tune is for 93oct so maybe if you cant get 93 where you are then get a 91oct tune. Personally id rather have mine running 91 and be further away from that knock then have extra power. but even from the stock tune to the COBB stage 1 is quite noticeable.. keep her happy and check the oil all the time.

Welcome to the forum!

Its not really a question of 'method' as much as a question of the 'tool' limitations and performance for a given platform and in the hands of a given tuner.

Normally Opensource >>> Ecutek >>> COBB but....

If your car is a USDM LGT and you're planning to go with a Stage 1-2 tune,

then even though I've never used or cared for COBB, I'd still vote either COBB and their AP and

either start with an OTS tune or go directly to a custom e/dyno tune that many shops can provide (the choice which makes more sense for you will be driven by your comfort level of putting the car on a dyno vs mocking around with software and geographical location of your car vs the tuner you go with).