LegacyGT.com

Is this a turbo legacy

tbwalker28

Hi all,

I am new to legacy turbos and I am looking at one on CL.

It is in rough shape but I am looking to start somewhere and want the expertise of you guys before i buy anything.

here is the link:

https://albuquerque.craigslist.org/cto/d/1991-subaru-legacy-turbo-awd/6542394081.html

First, is it actually a turbo? If so can someone point to the parts that indicate such in the engine bay? I am a total noob and have never seen under the hood of a turbo legacy...

Second, do these cars come with intercoolers? If so where do they generally mount it? I see a little scoop in the hood that I figured was for an intercooler but i don't see one under the hood...

Thanks for any and all responses!

Tom

Looks like it's a turbo - they usually sit passenger side, rear of engine compartment. Follow the air-intake from the filter, should go into the turbo. if it goes into the throttle body / engine first, then no turbo.

I don't spy an intercooler.

Ok, is it that oval shaped part immediately right of the 90 on the back of the air box?

I have just never seen a stock one on a legacy before and it doesn't look like other turbos i have seen.

Does anyone know if they came with an intercooler? or maybe just certain models?

This one is a 91

that year has an air to water intercooler. The little snorkle looking thing that matches up with the duct from the hood scoop should go down to the intercooler. I circled it in the picture below. I have a service manual for the 92, but not the 91 and it appears things might be a little different (in terms of the location, in the 92 it has a radiator cap on it, but looks different than what the one in the car you pictured has - there is also a second, electronic water pump to drive coolant through the intercooler)

there's an older thread on NASIOC with someone selling one, and the engine bay looks the same

https://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=930535