LegacyGT.com

Dirt road and AWD...

First let me tell you that I'm not a particularly skillful driver (I like to think I am but I'm not...), I have limited technical knowledge and this is my first experience with an AWD car. OK, so last weekend I'm following my wife's cousin on a dirt road, we're going relatively fast and having fun. He is in front and drives a 10 year-old stock Volvo 850 turbo wagon (with 4 season tires that looked like they had one year left). I was driving as fast as he was and I could sense the rear of my car going (and he noticed it in his rear view) yet the Volvo (fwd) was handling the curve in a very stable fashion. I am wondering, driving an AWD especially a Subaru, why in the heck does the rear of the car begins going when under the same circumstances a fwd vehicle seems to be in better control then I was. That being said I wasn't affraid of loosing control of the car. He told me that if the Volvo would start going he probably wouldn't be able to keep control of it. Still, this leaves me perplex. Can anyone provide me some explanations/insights on this? Could it be that a stiffer Subaru chassis vs. a softer Volvo chassis that would absorb additional centrifugal force?

2005 Legacy GT Wagon Ltd 5EAT Garnet Red :cool:

1999 GTI VR6 Black - sold but not forgotten... :(

Hard to say since lots of things could be contributing to the differences in dynamics. Tire pressures, sway bar stiffness, weight distribution, torque distribution, throttle inputs, ESP vs. no ESP, etc, etc... In an grossly oversimplified explanation, stay on the gas in turns with AWD vehicles. Since you have power going to the rear wheels, you don't want to induce any power on/off oversteer, which it sounds like was happening to you. Ken