LegacyGT.com

Turbo/Boost Issue...maybe more.

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to the Subaru game, as this 2008 Subaru Legacy GT is my first turbo car.

Please go check out my video today on YouTube:

as I discuss the problems I am having with sputtering/hesitation and a boost leak. I know the basics of these cars, but have a lot to learn and have read up plenty on the forums and countless threads to issues like this. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you all so much!

My answer will be this is the nature of our early boxer engine. The exhaust gas from the cylinder 2 and 4 travel longer route to the passenger side of the engine. If you floor the gas pedal, the delay is caused by the longer travel route to create the pressure to boost the engine.

That is why the newer age subaru placed their turbo right center underneath the engine to avoid the issue. Plus equal length header helps to create more power but lose the signature rumble sound.

If you think about how these air travel from the intake to exhaust out, you might find out the turbo thing on our engine is kinda an after-thought. But I really like my rumble boxer sound so I can live with the delay.

Post a data log with your fuel trims and that can help diagnose a boost or vacuum leak.

Also, I know you’re trying to promote your YouTube channel and all that but it’d be a lot easier for us to help you with this if you described it in words. IE: when did this start happening, what you’ve tried so far, what mods are on the car, when specifically do you hear the sputtering noise and from what general location, etc.

2008 Subaru Legacy GT 166k on body, ~70K New Engine Replaced by Subaru

Cobb SF Intake, Stage 1 93 Cobb Map, that's all.