LegacyGT.com

2006 GT Turbo Help

My turbo is done and I need a new one. I've been trying to do some research as to if I should get a VF40 or a VF46. Almost all VF46's I've found are listed as 07 or newer. Can anyone confirm the only bolt on and no mods needed turbo I can get is a VF40? Any advice would be appreciated. I am not a super knowledgeable about all of this so figured someone might have advice. Seems to be very little information on the 06 GT overall.

Just wanted to make sure the old one didn't blow up, sending shards of metal into your oil system, oil cooler, etc.

*If you have time, it wouldn't hurt to go into a little more detail about your situation I think. I'm no turbo expert, but I think it could be helpful to the other guys here.

Praying it didn't since we just replaced everything. Got 6.8 miles down the road and it died....

So will a VF46 bolt right on with no modifications or do I need to stick to the VF40?

What's everything? I definitely would not just slap a new turbo on there as it stands right now, even knowing as little as I do about LGT's. I've read too many horror stories here...

The motor was just rebuilt. Honestly not sure what all was replaced. I have to replace the turbo no matter what else is wrong so I'm trying to find out if I have options outside of the VF40 or not.

Vf52 will also directly bolt on but will need a tune for it. vf 46 will also bolt on and should be tuned,

To bad you have not been here for a while, lots of info here about your problem.

1st, you need to,

make sure there no metal particles in the oil system

check the banjo filter on the back of the passenger side head, it should have no metal in it.

Tell us why the engine blew and how bad was it

what does the old turbo look like, how bad is it

you say 6.8 miles on the rebuild, what was done for the rebuild, was everything cleaned by a machine and they made sure there was no metal particles left.

were the heads rebuilt by a good machine shop