LegacyGT.com

Replacing '09 Legacy H/K Subwoofer

MrTwitchyMckat

I want to replace the factory H/K sub with something better since mine finally blew out. However I'm having little luck finding much information on how to do this. I saw a thread from 2 years back which gave me some information, but I'm still a little lost. I know that the opening is 6.5" and i would need a shallow sub. However I still don't know how many ohms the factory sub is, and if I could just buy a 4 ohm sub with the factory amp, or if I would need to buy an aftermarket amp as well.

Unfortunately I have no experience working on car audio systems, so I don't really know what to look for exactly. I plan on putting a new HU at some point in the future as well. If I needed a new amp, should I wait until then, or would it not make much of a difference?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

I did this on my '09 2.5i with the harmon kardon system...

I bought an 8" 4ohm shallow-mount Pioneer sub, and then widened the hole in the rear deck where the 6.5" sits and just wire it into the factory wires.

I just used a pair of vise-grip pliers to bend back the opening until it fit 8" (bend a little bit all around the circle, bend it down into the truck opening). Then drilled 4 new holes for mounting. Then used the factory sub wires and plugged them into the sub. Once you put the rear-deck cover back over the area you'll never see where you made the hole bigger. Just use the factory H/K grill that's glued into the deck cover.

The factory system is perfectly fine with an aftermarket sub, you don't need another amp.