LegacyGT.com

Airgap A/C Compressor Clutch- Shims?

Okay so.. insta-cliffs

-Pulley popped off

-Destroyed connector to magnet part of clutch

-Bought junkyard A/C Compressor with clutch

-Swapped and installed Junkyard Clutch..

A/C still does not work.

Now.. I used the same amount of washers (2) but for some reason when installing, the gap between the front clutch plate and the back thick back-plate is definitely more than what it should be ( correct me if im wrong but I remember 0.007" to 0.017" )

I feel like if I remove 1 washer, there will be no Air-gap.

I am a machinist so I will make a single shim that hits the tolerance?

Does this make sense or am I wasting my time lol

Thanks

Clearance is around 0.017"

I would take off all washers and add one at a time til the clutch stops rubbing usually only 2 washers will achieve this.(could be different thickness start with the thickest one first.)

By the time you are done you should be able to stick 3 sheets of paper in between.

But i think you may have other problems.

Make sure the coil is good on the compressor apply power/ground too it the clutch should pull in.

If it does then you have to work backwards in tracing why the car isnt engaging it.

Could be bad relay, blown fuse for the compressor, could be low on refrigerant. or bad wire.

Okay so I applied 12v to the compressor, and the clutch engaged! Awesome..

Now I am back tracking.. How do i test the A/C Relay? bought a multi-meter today and I had no idea what I was doing with testing the relay lol

The 15a fuse inside the car( next to drivers left knee ) is not blown

I bought an AC PRO thing a couple months ago because I thought I was low on fluid, and the pressure gauge when connected to the low pressure valve was in the red ( saying that there is more mantainence to be done )

maxresdefault.jpg

But is that a pressure gauge as well? Does that tell me I have a pressurized system?

Any other spots to test?