LegacyGT.com

04' Legacy Questions

Hi! I'm new to Subarus and have a few questions. I recently bought an 04' Legacy 35th anniversary (non-turbo), 160k miles. The body is rough but it seems to have everything intact. It runs, but needs head gasket or work.

I have everything ordered to do the head gasket and most of the peripheral parts, timing belt, water pump etc. Here are my questions:

1. Are there any common mods or deletes that I can do to this car that don't screw me over on smog in California? It has California emissions.

2. What parts are common fails that I should replace while doing this work?

3. Should I pull the motor, or how should I access the heads to replace the gasket? Can I lift the motor and gain enough access?

4. Do the rings take a hard beating with head gasket issues in these cars? I'm thinking about a re-ring kit, but I know the motor would need to come out for that I'm sure.

I have a 14' Jetta TDI that I'm planning on selling back to VW, so I want a car in the meantime until my wife decides which Subaru she wants to replace it with. We're thinking Outback, of course. We need AWD where we moved to recently. This car just needs to last me a few months, so I'm not looking to make it perfect, just get it to run well and call it good.

Rings are not a typical failure on the non-turbo unlike the turbo folks. You have CA emissions there is nothing you should remove :) just accept that CA sucks (emissions wise).

You can do the job with the motor in the car just remove the pitch mount (the one connected to the firewall) and the two lower mounts then raise via the pan and wedge two 2" x 4' blocks between the engine cradle and mounts.