LegacyGT.com

AC leaking, compressor making loud noise, and only working on defrost setting

In an attempt to recharge my AC I noticed a few problems. First, I immediately noticed a hissing noise and located a leak (refer to video 1). Second, I noticed the compressor would only work on defrost setting. Even more interesting is that it only works when blower is set to 4. When you set blower on setting 1-3 compressor and fans cycle on and off continuously every 10 seconds or so (refer to video 2). Also, the compressor makes a very loud noise when engaging, but I've read that could be normal?? Is this most likely a wiring issue? What steps should I be taking to diagnose this issue? And is that leak repairable or do I need a new part? Forgive my inexperience. I'm new to working on cars. And as always, thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks like the leak is in the condenser or in the fittings where the hoses attach to it. As far as the blower speed issue, it sounds like you need a new blower motor resistor. They are a pretty cheap and easy fix. I'd also pull the compressor out and drain out whatever oil is left in it and refill it, that should quiet it down.

Where is the blower motor resistor located?

I've never replaced one in this generation Subaru but they are normally attached to air ducking near the blower motor. You'll most likely have to remove the glove box to get access to it but again, I'm not entirely sure.

Ok thank you. Is there any steps I should take before that? Any other possibilities?