LegacyGT.com

Transitioning from BMW

ajgrant

I have been driving BMW 335s for the past 8 years - 5 years owned 2009, current lease in a 2014. Lease ends in December. I had a GL-10 FWD wagon in 84. Leased a 2014 Forester for my daughter to take to school and was impressed with the brand. I plan to retire at the end of the year and am thinking of a Subaru - Legacy 3.6 or WRX. Will purchase outright. Looking at Acura TLX, but that's $10K more than the Legacy with similar equipment.

Things I will miss in the BMW - power, head-up display, sending locations to nav from Google maps. Things I won't miss - cost of maintenance after warranty, run flat tires, monthly lease payment.

So coming from the 335, I was thinking the 3.6 or the WRX. Need something with more power than the 2.5 to keep me happy. New Impreza comes out this week, and I assume that includes the WRX. Legacy is more age appropriate, and I need to drive the 2017 to see how it feels. WRX is more similar to the BMW. I plan to load either up with nav, Eye Sight and all the options.

Reviewing some of the posts, here's my question. If I really like the new WRX, that settles it. If I decide I want a Legacy I could get the 2017 at the end of the year or buy the BMW off the lease and trade it for a 2018 when they come out. I understand that 2018 they will have a major refresh. Or if I buy a 2017 Legacy and really like the '18, trade up next year.

Any thoughts?

I'd personally drop the idea of waiting on the Legacy refresh. Many folks know and many others have learned that the first year for a new generation is the worse one to get. The 2015 was plagued with problems that all seem to be cured with the 2016. There are rumors that the 3.6 may go away with the refresh, too. What will replace it? Who knows.