LegacyGT.com

New to Subaru, Check Engine Light

Hello everyone, I am new to Subarus but i have a 2005 subaru legacy 2.5 gt turbo limited edition. I am missing the intake duct, and i am getting check engine light with codes p0302 engine misfires. So i have to pics one of a normal engine and one pick with mine. Lets kinda play what is wrong with this picture, all the help is truly appreciated. In one of the pictures i have circled a part can someone tell me what that is, and why mine looks different.

1135294026_2005_subaru_GT_ENGINEunknownpart.jpg.f20798f68620eada8ea1d170bea95dca.jpg

1964540812_myengine.thumb.jpg.6c142d8319031cba51c462811dec15ef.jpg

Let me begin by saying that I am not a subie tech, I have limited mechanical experience with these turbo boxer motors and I am still learning more about these cars every single day.

With that said, the very first thing I noticed in your pic is that you're missing the factory ram-air duct and your filter is showing :p. The 2nd thing that looks odd is the MAF sensor, which you circled in yellow, looks either to be hooked up wrong or from the wrong vehicle.

Now, I don't know what is causing your misfires or codes, but in my limited experience these engines seem to me to be extremely temperamental. They do not react well to any changes in intake, exhaust, fueling, or boost without ecu tuning. This means that even swapping out the intake box for a cone filter or possibly even a higher flow replacement panel filter may require revised ECU tuning to function properly.

There is a chance that all you need to do is buy and install a factory ram air duct and make sure that MAF sensor is proper and hooked up correctly, reset the ecu and run the car to check for CELs. But if I recall correctly there could me more issues lurking as well such as vacuum or boost leaks, improper valve clearance, etc, which could also trigger those codes.