LegacyGT.com

cam's 2005 LGT rebuild

So here goes my rebuild thread. This has been a long time coming but I finally have enough time to share my experiences. I will start with saying that this is not so much of a rebuild but more of a long block swap. Still a new engine build either way you look at it!

My story all began in the late fall of 2015. I bought my legacy in October from a third party I found on Craigslist. I am a high school student and this was my first turbo charged car. Long story short I drove over 8 hours round trip from VT to ME and spent all my hard earned money on this car (I know someone will say it if I don't, I bought this car 100% on my own and is entirely my investment. MY PARENTS DID NOT BUY THIS FOR ME). I bought the car in good running condition with supposedly 14,000 miles on a new 255 shortblock and rebuild. As I said earlier this was my first time with a turbo car and although I didn't know much at the time I could tell there was nothing majorly f**ked when I bought it. The car had a nice list of stage 2 mods (UP, DP, Short Throw, ACT clutch set up, ect + unknown tune- I know lol :ohhh:) and I was stoked! I fell in love driving the car for the following months and had absolutely no issues until the cold winter weather. Once the temperature started to be constantly below 0 outside at night, where my car lives since there is not an open spot in my garage, I began to have issues with a rough idle/misfire. I immediately began trouble shooting with help from this forum and checked all the obvious. Cleaned MAF, new plugs, no vacuum leaks, swapped + cleaned injectors, etc with no change from the cylinder 4 misfire I was having. At this point I decided to take it to a local mechanic and have them take a look. There they performed a compression test which came back as follows- Cylinder 1+2- 135psi, Cylinder 3- 132psi, and Cylinder 4- 120psi. Next up was a leak down; Nothing from the exhaust, and in the trouble cylinders (3,4) it was close to 2