LegacyGT.com

The mystery of the P0011 and P0021 codes and loss of power

Hey guys, hopefully I can get some input on what is going on with my car. I drive a 2006 Legacy GT 2.5 Limited 5EAT. First and foremost, I'll say I did something really stupid and take the blame for it, I'm not looking for criticism as I already know I fucked up... here are the details.

Events leading up to the codes: I'm a student, and my LGT is my daily. I rely on it to get to work and school, which means going more than a week without my car SUCKS. I planned on keeping the car mostly stock other than the Q300 catback I had installed. This quickly changed a few weeks ago when my stock uppipe blew shards of the cat into my turbo and blew it at 100K miles, not too upset.. it was an opportunity to get a new turbo and uppipe! I consulted a local Subaru tech (well regarded) who told me that it would be safe to install a catless uppipe (GrimmSpeed), hiflow downpipe (Invidia) and new turbo without a tune as long as I stayed out of boost and got the tune installed SOON. After consulting a few knowledgeable people, I got the consensus that it was risky (I knew this) but as long as I went easy on it, I'd be okay. I knew that I would be able to get an AP a week or two after the parts were installed so I pulled the trigger, because I needed my car SO BAD, right? The parts get installed and the car runs well without the tune and it sounds amazing.. and I'm happy. Fast forward a few days and I find out my TMIC has developed a split/leak from the added power, so I had to buy an AVO TMIC.. further cutting into my AP funds. Now at this point, the intelligent thing would have been to stop driving the car and wait for the tune, but nobody makes the best decision 100% of the time. To eliminate the leak while I waited for the new TMIC to come in, I sealed the leak with steel epoxy and it actually eliminated the leak completely, but I still needed to get rid of it for obvious reasons.