LegacyGT.com

Head Gasket Help plz

Hello everyone!

So the time has come to finally start doing some work to my massive money pit. Long story short, had the timing belt done, and the tensioner slipped (I believe) and the valves decided they wanted to say hello to the pistons. I should also note that I am not a mechanic, and I have already talked to the shop responsible for the repairs, along with taking it to the Attorney General for review but to no avail. However, that was months ago, and just recently found out that said shop has changed their name. I'm sure they screwed over more people than just me.

Anyway, the car has been sitting since early April, and I have finally got SOME funds together to start the process of removing the engine. Obviously the heads need to come off, in which case (correct me if I'm wrong) the head gaskets should be replaced. I figured while I'm in there replacing the head gaskets, I might as well look into something that may be better than stock. I have come across some Tomei (I believe was the brand), they look to be a sandwich style (3 layers) of gasket. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with these, or any other recommendations?

Feel free to ask questions if I was not clear on anything. Any and all helpful responses welcomed. T.I.A.!

Do you have all the tools needed to remove the engine from the car and then take it apart ?

Have you done this before ?

Stock head gaskets will be fine.

After the heads are rebuilt you'll want to use ARP head studs to hold them on.

I had the machine shop assemble the heads on the new ej257. See my click here link for the whole story with pictures.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here