LegacyGT.com

H6 swap - EZ30D in a Baja!

Hey all.

I've had a 03 Baja sport 5 speed daily driver for about 5 years now.

I flip old Scoobys for fun and profit. But my recent purchase has my gears turning!

It's an 03 LLBean with 214k on it. $1700 worth!

I could probably flip this car for 3-4k.

It's really not a bad car as a whole, but I think I want this engine!

Somebody talk me into this and tell me that the wiring isn't too hard to tame.

BTW I'm keeping the manual transmission.

I'm a bodyman by trade, and cut cars in half and weld them back together on a daily basis.... so I'm used to huge jobs.

But the whirly twirly bits, and keeping the smoke inside the wires isn't my profession.

I'm wary if the wiring, and wondering if swapping the entire dash wiring, radio, hvac, and all is necessary?

Maybe doing all this is more work but less work because it will avoid a wiring nightmare.

Anyone have any insight for me?

I would think with both cars side by side, you could swap over the wire harness from the H6 and any other parts needed.

If you have a plan, you should be fine. Think it through, make a list.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here

It has been done before. All the ones I've seen swap everything, dashboard, cluster, everything.

I don't have the threads handy, but there's minor things that don't work. Some niggly issues with lights/etc.

I would think things like ECU and engine harness will have to be swapped. Probably BIU, not sure if dash swap is required. Exhaust manifolds are different locations so part or complete exhaust would have to come over from the donor car as well.

Having the donor car that is the same body style as your Baja should make this project if you go for it the easiest it can be.

Good luck and keep us updated if you follow through.

2005 LGT Wagon Limited 6 MT RBP Stage 2 - 249K