LegacyGT.com

18x8.5 +44 on 245s Rubbing Rear on Stock Suspension

08qsm

Sorry to create another thread, I tried to search and I found a lot of good info but everything is always relative to someones specific setup. Currently I am on stock suspension but looking to drop the car in the near future. So I just need to be sure whatever I do works now and in the future.

Long story short, got some Rota Gravels in 18x8.5 on 245/40/18 that have basically no tread, but I threw them on anyway to see how they would fit. If any rubbing etc etc...well they do rub. Mainly in the rear, I'm new to this but I believe it to be the spring perch? Happens on most potholes and under load like if I am going up a hill or accelerating hard.

So what would I need to fix this? Since I am buying new tires anyway I am open for tire size suggestions, I heard 235s would fit fine but 245s are just the ideal tire size. If I can get them to fit with the right mods then why not?

Wheel spacers? How many mm?

Saggy butt spacers?

Different springs/struts with higher perch? Coilovers?

Given the above will I have to roll any fenders?

Or just go with 235s and not worry about all this. Thanks guys!

If you want to lower your car, your fenders are going to want to party. So I'd say either get your fenders rolled and/or run smaller tires. I wouldn't bother with wheel spacers or saggy butts until you've lowered it and ran into problems. I'm on 18x9 +35 with 235s and lowered a little over an inch on coilovers with my fenders rolled and a little camber.

spacers only help if you rubbing on the inside. with that size and offset, you are rubbing on the fender. putting a spacer will only make it worse. either you roll/pull the fender. or run more negative camber in the rear, which means buying some sort of camber adjustment.