LegacyGT.com

Clutch pedal height?

My new to me Legacy GT had a new clutch put in a little while ago and I noticed the clutch pedal seems to sit quite a bit higher than the brake pedal.

Can anyone chime in on how high your clutch pedal is compared to the brake pedal? It's a bit annoying since my shoe hits the plastic cover above the pedals unless I start by pressing on the pedal more with the toes of my foot which feels awkward.

The catch point is already really low but there is quite a bit of free play right now at the top of the clutch before I feel pressure so I'm guessing that I can adjust it down and it won't affect the catch point?

I'm not good with transmissions/clutches, but I've heard hydraulic clutches can't be adjusted, and I'm pretty sure that's what our 4th gen legacies have. I know my catch point changed a bit each time I had my clutch replaced. How many miles are on your clutch? I know I'm not a turbo owner, but figured the pictures could still be helpful. My clutch pedal and brake pedal height are pretty much the same.

clutch1.thumb.jpg.3f9805881908c93d3a8eceef9966c38e.jpg

clutch2.thumb.jpg.c821e3362f30c64e4d3f55efc0c56da4.jpg

clutch3.thumb.jpg.32406179b63136e245a9427d92ff81a9.jpg

brake1.thumb.jpg.4e95bf69f41e0ba640b909003e6da7af.jpg

clutch4.thumb.jpg.075b65abdb56bd8f317ff5caa13537ee.jpg

Thanks for the pictures, very much appreciated! If you don't mind me asking, how much "dead" pedal space do you have at the top of the clutch before you start to feel pressure when pressing down on the pedal?

I have a newer crazy stiff Stage 2+ clutch and my clutch pedal is definitely way higher than what you show in your pictures. My clutch is well above my brake pedal which seems wrong. Thanks a ton for your help and I'll ask the dealer about it next time I'm in for maintenance.

• Moderators