LegacyGT.com

Legacy style questions (i'm a car noob)

JustSo

Hey guys, I've been saving up and wanting to buy my first car. I'm pretty much a car noob but i have friends that are getting me into it and now i'm just trying to do some research. i'm looking around craigslist and probably going for a legacy gt wagon around 1998-2003 whatever i can afford. But how come some have the front air vent and some don't? and whats the difference between a l wagon, a gt wagon, and a gt limited? Thanks guys

Hood scoop is the gt. Limited is a trim package, usually leather and a moon roof. I'm not certain if there was a difference in the NA engines between base model and gt but I believe the GT's are the NA 2.5L (251/253)...if they're anything like the Impreza RS (which I believe they are) then the earlier models woul have DOHC and later SOHC.

Hood scoop is the gt. Limited is a trim package, usually leather and a moon roof. I'm not certain if there was a difference in the NA engines between base model and gt but I believe the GT's are the NA 2.5L (251/253)...if they're anything like the Impreza RS (which I believe they are) then the earlier models woul have DOHC and later SOHC.

Thanks man! I'm definitely gonna look for a gt then. I've also seen legacy outbacks with hood scoops

WIKI the car, you find out lots of info.

I had a 98 GT wagon, 00GT wagon and my 05GT wagon. The 2nd,3rd Gen NA cars were just trim packages. If I recall right. WIKI would have the info.

I do recall the 00's had 260 changes, and only cost $169 more on the base price. When I test drove it, I was sold in the first 50ft of the test drive. The car was that much tighter.

305,600miles 5/2012 ej257 short block, 8/2011 installed VF52 turbo, @20.8psi, 280whp, 300ftlbs. (SOLD).  CHECK your oil, these cars use it.

Engine Build - Click Here