LegacyGT.com

Subaru 1999 GT 30th Anniversary for a Student?

JamesSubaru

Hi, all. I'm a current student and would like to know if a Subaru 1999 GT 30th Anniversary, Sedan, is a good first car? Is it reliable?

It has 185k miles, Leather Interior, Clean inside & out. It looks as if it has been maintained very good. The guy is asking $2700 OBO ........

This would be my 2nd car, i just sold my first car it was a Buick Regal 1998 and it was VERY boring so I'm looking to subarus.

Subaru's are very good cars, but when you get to high mileage you want to make sure what was and was not maintained. As a GT it has the turbo engine. Important to check is the timing belt. Normally, need to be changed at about 100,000 miles. With 185,000 I would assume the timing belt was changed, but it would be due again about 200,000 miles. To change the timing belt, water pump, pullys etc is about $1100 or so. Also with a turbo, the main thing is frequent oil changes. Need to change about every 4000 miles and use synthetic oil. Go to AMSOIL web page and you can look up the car and their recommendations. AMSOIL is excellent synthetic oil, but only available at repair shops or the dealer, not at a retail outlet. Excellent oil, which I have used in all my cars for years and never had any oil related issue, no matter what the car. With a turbo,make sure it sounds smooth and does not rattle or make any wobble sounds. That would show signs of wear and would probably need replacement. Head gaskets can be an issue on this engine, so check carefully as that is an expensive repair (probably $1000), but cheaper than if the head gaskets blow and cause engine damage. Then you are looking as several thousands in repair.