LegacyGT.com

Compression check cyl 4 - 78 PSI

A few weeks ago I did a compression test on cyl 4. It was a cold engine and I have no idea what masochist would / could try to do this on a warm engine. Plus I've never been a fan of removing spark plugs on a hot alum head.

Anyhow the psi was 78 and within 10 minutes there was no leak down.

Until the engine has run for about 2 minutes, this car has some nasty piston slap.

I wonder what the results would be on a warmed engine. The test was a dry test.

Not sure what to think???????

Maybe I'm not thinking well after yesterdays attack on to head by some European Hornets. Got a bit too close to their nest and they gave me a nasty hurt'in head. Those are big creatures.

I sir am that type of masochist, that's really the only way to get an accurate number, especially if you have bad rings or scored cyls..I was always told that under 80 is a bad cylinder 110-120 is the best you could hope for on a high mileage motor. I'm no auto mechanic but I play one on tv.;)

You should try it on a 4th Gen Legacy... have to undo the motor mounts and lift the engine to clear the side rails.

But as Pleaid mentioned, don't check it on a cold engine. Engine needs to be at operating temp to make sure rings are fully expanded against the cylinder wal.

- Pro amore Dei et patriam et populum -

Well so be it. I'll need to do it on a warm engine. I suspect that on a warm engine I will be hitting higher numbers.

Just a bit more room by the chassis / plug hole on the 2.5 would have been nice.

I sir am that type of masochist, that's really the only way to get an accurate number, especially if you have bad rings or scored cyls..I was always told that under 80 is a bad cylinder 110-120 is the best you could hope for on a high mileage motor. I'm no auto mechanic but I play one on tv.;)