LegacyGT.com

Your exhaust layout

I've yet to find a thread about your intake/exhaust layout from the minute the air hits the filter to the instant it's spat out the muffler tip.

The purpose of this thread is to aid me on a build that I want. I'm still learning about what the benefits are of catless up/down pipes, etc. Hell, knowing what my stock layout is would be a great start.

I'd love to go catless up/down, and figure out if I need or need to get a resonator. The muffler and pipes will be replaced regardless. But knowing what is best for my car is what I'm trying to figure out.

I have a diagram of the WRX intake/exhaust, and a few "enthusiast generated" mod's. One in particular has no resonator or cat anywhere, just straight piping to the muffler.

Thanks in advance. PM's welcome.

A stock intake will suit your needs fine until you are stage 2 or beyond. You will not see any real performance gains, (if any at all) if you were to run a aftermarket intake. There are a lot of threads discussing the pros and cons of running an aftermarket or stock intake.

A lot of people change it for the sound and for looks (but bear in mind you will have to tune for it)

Your 2005 lgt has a cat in the up-pipe, that makes your turbo spool up later and in the long term may come apart or something of that nature and ruin your turbo. So with a catless up-pipe you will see gains in, Better spool and maybe a little better flow. Your turbo will spool up to 500rpm sooner. Here is a link discussing stock catless up-pipes and aftermarket ones.

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/oem-catless-vs-aftermarket-up-pipe-debate-132863.html