LegacyGT.com

questions regarding gen 4 LGT (some spec b)

19mystic96

Im a bit of a rookie when it comes to the gen 4 legacy GTs, but I recently got the chance to drive a friends 05 LGT and i was immediately hooked on them. I'm currently in the market for a nice, lightly modded LGT. After researching a bit, I have become very interested in the spec B cars (2007 in particular). I like the added features that come along with the spec Bs. my first choice that my budget would allow will be the 07, but i would get an 06 if the price was right.

Now my questions are as follows.

1. Are these cars, when lightly modded, reliable enough to be DD?

2. With the recent search for a DD, i notice that the turbos could be a common problem with these cars?

3. What should i look for when inspecting one when i look at one for sale?

4. What are the "weak spots" of the cars?

5. I know my moms old 99 outback had a history of overheating and blowing head gaskets. Has this been addressed/fixed with the newer cars?

also, if you guys have any other advice to help me in my search for a fun/reliable GT it would be greatly appreciated.

here are a couple I found that I am interested in.. what do you think?

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/fs-07-legacy-spec-b-193389.html

i know its an 06, but

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/fs-ft-oh-06-lgt-spec-b-95-stock-194892.html

I bought my 07 SB with 75k on the clock for 17.5k. Reliability starts with how the owners before you took care of their car (ie change the oil/fluids when it needs to be changed and if they tracked the car, drag strip, all highway driving, etc).