LegacyGT.com

Changing Spark plugs in GT?? HARD??

Hey, I just purchased my 2005 Legacy GT and only has 60k on it. I am a motorcycle mechanic and have been for 10 years, but I will be the first to admit I'm not the best at working on cars. I was wanting to change spark plugs and was wondering if anybody had any tips. Also any other helpful tips you may have, feel free to share. THANKS

Well it is a boxer motor (like the BMW Motorcycles), so the spark plugs are not in the easiest to access places, but use a spark plug socket (the one with the rubber seal) to get it out, then to put the new one in use a regular long socket to tighten it, otherwise you will never get the socket off of the plug. On mine, I had to take the battery off and the windshield washer fluid receptacle to get at the right side spark plugs. It makes it a whole lot easier. Hopefully that helps :)

There is a good walkthrough on here, just don't have a link on hand right now. You will definitely need a 6" extension and a u-joint for your socket wrench. Removing the battery and airbox is pretty much required to get to them as well. I wouldn't call it hard, it's just pretty time consuming, roughly a 3 hour job I'd say. I'm sure others will chime in and probably find a link for ya as well, good luck!

Is it really that much more difficult to change on the turbo vs NA?

I changed mine on my 01 in about 20-30 mins with a flashlight @ night after my kids went to bed when I first bought her.

Can you post a walkthrough please? I'd love to know what I'm doing wrong.

Can you post a walkthrough please? I'd love to know what I'm doing wrong.

I've been told it's different on the 05+ GTs since they are turbo. My 01 unfortunately isn't since Subaru hosed the US market by not offering a turbo engine on the 00-04's.