LegacyGT.com

Thoughts on how to diagnose speaker-related noise?

grs

I have a 2010 Legacy with the Harmon Kardon radio package. Seemingly at random, I have popping/interference noise from either my right (or my left, to a much lesser degree) front speaker -- but not generally at the same time.

The dealer replaced the radio as a shot in the dark, but the speakers still randomly pop. Since it is seemingly random (i.e., I don't yet know how to reproduce it at will) and it has never happened at the dealership, the dealer says I'm now on my own.

I'm pretty handy with a screwdriver and wrench but am a total newbie at diagnosing something like this, esp. as it's something I didn't install.

I looked through the threads and didn't see anything that looked exactly on point. I would really appreciate any recommendations on how to isolate this to be able to diagnose it.

Additional details are as follows:

The popping/interference from the right speaker is generally much louder and more frequent (and is loud enough that I cannot tell if the left speaker is doing it, too). When it occurs, it doesn't last long -- no more than a few seconds to a few minutes at a time. I cannot turn it down with my volume control, and it continues with the radio turned off. (The radio is almost always on in my car, so the noise always starts when the radio is on.) Also, it does not change pitch when I'm driving/accelerating but is a constant volume. I have not, to my recollection, ever heard it when I am connected to my phone via bluetooth.