LegacyGT.com

Speaker replacement for Gen 2 GT-B wagon

hansvonaxion

Hey,

I've done quite a bit of reading recently but haven't found anything that covers what I'm after.

I have a gen 2 wagon with an Eclipse AVN557HDTV head unit (JDM only model) and original speakers (as far as I know). The fronts are split, 6.5" (I believe) and tweeters on the doors. The in-door rears I don't know the size. Anyway, I was thinking of replacing the original speakers but I'm not very good with electronics and don't have tools or space to work. A couple of noob questions I have are;

1. Do the OEM splits have a crossover or are they full frequency to both mid-range and tweeter?

2. Could I replace just the door speaker and keep the tweeters as is?

3. Would that be a reasonable idea?

4. Would putting 2-ways in the door and keeping the OEM tweeters hooked up be a bad idea?

5. Is it possible to change the door speakers without soldering - do the OEM speakers/wires use plugs that would fit any aftermarket units?

The reason for swapping is basically to try to improve the sound, mainly get some more bass, before thinking about a powered sub. Also one of the rear door speakers has started rattling, may be blown or on it's way out. I would probably get something used, like these for $50ish. Possibly do away with the rear door speakers depending on size, what's available, how much improvement I get from the fronts (assuming I can do it).

Depending on the answers I get I could just leave it as is or wait a while and pay someone to install new mids, tweeters and possibly a powered sub down the line, but money's too tight to mention and isn't really a necessity in my life right now.

Thanks for reading, any advice welcome.

Hey bud, I don't have time for a detailed response but here is some answers.

1. Not sure, they are probably just full range with a very, VERY basic form of crossover.

2. NO!

3. NO!

4. YES!