LegacyGT.com

Cobb Accessport vs. PC Tuning

b071dc0

I'm new to tuning an ecu and am trying to figure out what rout would be better. Heres my background: I'm a college student on a budget looking to get a little more sound and power out of my OBXT. I live in an area with no garages to have it tuned at, so doing it myself is the only option. The car is very basically modded so far, with only a SPT intake on it. But I've got an Up pipe and down pipe on the way and plan on purchasing a 16G turbo (for reliability and a little more power), so I think it'd be a good idea to tune it once those are applied. I've been reading over the forums about tuning for a while and am having trouble picking the right method. I like how easy the accessport appears to be but am turned away by the price. Would it be worth buying that or should I tackle tuning the car via laptop? Any advice is much appreciated.

Get on Ebay and buy a $15 Vag-com cable. Send Infamous1 a PM and get an E-tune. You will be much happier, unless you really know what you are doing and like to play with your car. But, I am guessing you have no idea since it says new to tuning. There is just way to much shit you can screw up and ruin your engine. If you have a laptop then open source is a no brainer. Get all your parts together, install them and get tuned for all the mods you put on. If you add more mods later, i.e. upgraded TMIC or FMIC, then you have to get your tune touched up which means a little extra money. If your turbo upgrade is a ways off, then I would get the stage 2 for immediate gratification. Search on!

On a Subaru when you buy an accessport you are buying the hardware. You aren't really buying the "access" part due to the availability of open source options. If you had a BMW 335, or an R35 GT-R, or an Rx-8, well when you buy an AP you are paying for the fact that Cobb is one of the only ones to have actually cracked the ECU. There are no open-source options on those platforms.