LegacyGT.com

2001 Legacy Exhaust interchangability

sleeper2001

I have a 2001 Legacy wagon with a rusted out exhaust. I just purchased this vehicle from someone returning from the east coast where it saw a lot of salt on the roads. I am trying to save some money on replacing the exhaust and am investigating used exhausts. Will the exhaust off of a 2005 Legacy GT work on my wagon....what mods will I have to do? It is too sweet a deal if it will work. Thanks in advance for any help. Here is a link to the exhaust.

http://portland.craigslist.org/clc/pts/2228055272.html

First of all, no an exhaust off of a 2005 Legacy GT will not work on your car without significant modification.

Second, that craigslist add is NOT for a 2005 Legacy GT wagon exhaust.

The exhaust in that add might very well fit your wagon. Can you get under you car to look more closely? I'm not an expert on the earlier generation of Legacy wagons so I can't tell you definitively.

Cheers!

Yes, I'm positive. The '05 GT wagon has dual mufflers. How do I know? I own one.

They are either really misinformed or lying. EVERY 2005 Subaru Legacy (sedan, wagon and outbacks) has dual mufflers.

Edit: I'm having trouble finding pictures of a stock exhaust but if you look at an aftermarket one you'll see the differences...

http://legacygt.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2912724&postcount=45

Yes, this is for a sedan.

Here's a whole thread about the wagon exhaust options...

http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/wagon-cbe-options-137295.html

Cheers!

Second, that craigslist add is NOT for a 2005 Legacy GT wagon exhaust.

The exhaust in that add might very well fit your wagon. Can you get under you car to look more closely? I'm not an expert on the earlier generation of Legacy wagons so I can't tell you definitively.

+1, looks like an 02-04 WRX exhaust.