LegacyGT.com

Grinding, please help me

OK, I have an 06 lgt w/ 66k. Under hard acceleration there is a grinding coming from trans area. Im a service writer but unfortunatlly i work for a chevrolet store. I just flushed the trans out and now Ive been told to probably lean towards the front diff. Im not looking for a thousand it might bes but would love if any one has and dianostic tips to help me track this down. Noise only happens when accelrating very hard and will not go away until I let off the throttle. Thank you!!

check your dif oil located on the passenger side of engine towards back , looks like a trans dip stick but its ur dif. If level is good and fluid looks good its gotta be in trans, . Could be the cluctches in the trans they get stuck together and grind, taking a hard corner while accelerating will break them loose. sounds wacky cause its an automatic but auto trans have clutches to as u prob no! i work at a Subaru dealer and sometimes that happens. keep me updated il try and talk to people at work and get the prob solved

Ill check the diff fluid in the morn. I flushed the trans as the clutches have been known to stick and cause this grinding. Was told the flush could take a few miles of drivin to work it out so ill see how it works, no difference as of now though. Thank u and ill be in touch

yes it will break the clutches loose after a few sharp corners it doesnt work then the tranny will have to come apart but most of the time it works if it is the clutches sticking together. when i say hard cornering i mean like completley turn the wheel all the way to the right or left and accelerate in a circle. find an open parking lot

I have that exact sound you described RiceViper. Mine must be the same problem.

Excuse my ignorance to this diagnosis, but this was a 5 minute fix or just took 5 minutes to figure this out? If it was 5 minutes to figure out, how much to fix?