LegacyGT.com

cobb accessport

lucas112

i have searched and i cant find the answer to my questions

Does the accessport come with all the maps already on it? Do i have to pay extra for maps like stage 1 or stage 2? I am new to this thing and i want a tune for more power. I have read about infamous tunes and opensource tunes, but do they download to the accessport or do i have to use a laptop?

is a protune a lot better? and how would i get one?

Protunes are commonly referred to a tune you get when you take your car to a tuner and they use a dynamometer (commonly referred to as a "dyno") to measure the output of your engine and they create a map for you while you wait. A tuner can also "road tune" without a "dyno". I think this probably counts as a protune as well.

The "remote tune" m sprank is referring to is also commonly referred to as an "e-tune" where you use the engine logging function of the AccessPort (AP for short), or a laptop (see below), to record a number of engine parameters while doing "pulls" on the road (they also do "pulls" on the dyno). These pulls are usually 3rd gear runs from 2000 rpms to redline (or when you hit the rev limiter ;) ).

Another tuning method that is very popular is referred to as "open source tuning". With this method you use a laptop or netbook connected to your car using either a Tactrix cable (http://www.tactrix.com) or vag-com cable and using open source software from rom raider (http://www.romraider.com).

Hope that clears up some of the terminology for you. There is TONS of information here on all this and while it may seem a bit overwhelming, take your time to at least learn the basic terminology.

As for what's better, a custom tune (pro, road or e-tune) will always be better (safer and more powerful) than an off the shelf (OTS) tune because OTS tunes have to work for EVERY Legacy out there while a custom tune is, well, custom. :lol: :lol: ;)

Cheers!