LegacyGT.com

05 LGT auto to 6mt swap

wrxtacy2003

I was told this can't be done because the auto trans communicates with other systems via CAN Bus, and if u swap a manual trans in and remove the TCU the car goes into limp mode and there's no way around it. This is what I was told. I'm trying to see if this is in fact true, so my question is can I swap an auto out of an 05 LGT and replace it with a 6mt. I know mechanically it can be done, but supposedly electronically it cannot. Can anyone verify this for me? Thanks!

I know of someone that swapped a 4eat in a forester to a 6mt. I'm pretty sure it was a wiring nightmare but it was done. I'm not sure if there is anything different with the two auto transmissions that would be easier than the other. I'm not a mechanic.