LegacyGT.com

Carr Light Wing and Hella 500 Black Magic setup

sourdough

Just added a Carr light wing and a set of Hella 500 Black Magic driving lights to my 07 Legacy GT. Had been wanting to add a set of driving lights as I drive country roads and unlit highways-very little traffic and lots of critters. Ordered from Canadian Tire for $300 incl tax. Had ordered a set from the states for $200 US but then they wanted $150 to ship so cancelled that. Will have them wired to turn on and off with the high beams plus independent switch as well. I like the look of the lights-blacked out when covers off and the black light bar as it blends in nicely.

DSC_0002.thumb.jpg.425fc043d9a76e9d44e5ce51a3b8ef45.jpg

DSC_0001.thumb.jpg.6dd8b31f49a4c6753802500e751b55e1.jpg

Wow, that's really awesome! :)

How was the installation? I noted in the .pdf instructions that you'll need to drill into the actual metal bumper beam - I've never done that before: what are the considerations you undertook to avoid the airbag-related components?

<-- I love Winky, my "periwinkle" (ABP) LGT! - Allen / Usual Suspect "DumboRAT" / One of the Three Stooges

'16 Outback, '16 WRX, 7th Subaru Family

Actually it did not feel like I actually hit any metal . You use the existing two license plate holes and simply drill them out to 9/32" and then use the inlcuded self tapping screws. For the third hole in the middle I did the same thing but again it sure did not feel like I was drilling through any metal. I am a bit concerned that it may not be strong enough but it sure feels solid though. I did not even consider any airbag related issues!! Just have to hope on that one I guess. The instructions from Carr said that it was a very straightforward install for the Legacy, nothing out of the ordinary.

Yeah I haven't finished getting the wiring done but my intent is to hide them behind the plate holder and go underneath rather than through the grill. Out of site out of mind!!