LegacyGT.com

Newbie to detailing

I'm a complete car cleaning newbie.

I barely wash my car, which is terrible I know. In the 3 years I owned my 98 Forester, I didn't wash it once (though I did do an auto wash a few times). The same for my OBXT, I've washed it by hand twice but JUST wash. I've never waxed a car in my life, nor have I ever used a clay-bar.

So how do I get started?

What supplies do I need?

E-Tank said the process is something like: Wash, Claybar, Dry, Polish, Wax.

What materials should I get? Can I just use your average Mothers car wash concentrate?

I DID buy a Mothers Power Cone and wheel polish to clean the wheels on both of our cars (especially on my wifes Impreza, there are TONS of nooks and crannies on the OEM wheels).

What else?

I still have some residue from the white plastic "protection" that ships on new cars that won't come off. I've also got some white wax or something on the roof rails that I'd like gone. Plus, if I debadge, I will need to do something about the residue there.

What wash should I get?

Rags/towels/cloths (I did get a 12-pack of microfiber towels from Advance not long ago)?

What clay bar?

What polish?

What wax?

I'm also at a loss on the interior. My car has a few marks on the leather and on some of the cloth on the back of the rear seats. The headliner has a few marks from hamfisted dealer technicians trying to fix my rattle.

I don't want to neglect our cars anymore!

[URL="http://legacygt.com/forums/showthread.php/proper-flip-key-interesti-159894.html"]Flip Key Development Thread[/URL] "Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped." - E. Hubbard

I'm a complete car cleaning newbie.

I barely wash my car, which is terrible I know. In the 3 years I owned my 98 Forester, I didn't wash it once (though I did do an auto wash a few times). The same for my OBXT, I've washed it by hand twice but JUST wash. I've never waxed a car in my life, nor have I ever used a clay-bar.