LegacyGT.com

How do I know when my turbo is going out?

My turbo blew and noticed it got loud right before it.. and then the check engine light came on lol. I'm no mechanic but there are banjo screws with filters in them that get clogged, thats what mine was. I spoke to a guy that instanlty knew that was it, i'm thinking you could take those out and clean them if you knew what the hell you were doing.

My turbo blew and noticed it got loud right before it.. and then the check engine light came on lol. I'm no mechanic but there are banjo screws with filters in them that get clogged, thats what mine was. I spoke to a guy that instanlty knew that was it, i'm thinking you could take those out and clean them if you knew what the hell you were doing.

that response is heavily sarcastic right? as in this has been discussed ad naseum throughout the forum and there are these mysterious "banjo bolts" that nobody has ever heard of?

and there are these mysterious "banjo bolts" that nobody has ever heard of?

Agreed, the name Banjo may conjure an image in your mind of a black guy on a tall stool with

a plinky sounding five-string instrument although IF you listen/read carefully... you may finally 'hear' it here?

(Nothing to do with a Banjo, aside from the ping noise these bolts make when they snap (like a banjo string)

as when over-tightened by clueless individuals that pass for Certified techicians at your local dealer...?)

http://i254.photobucket.com/albums/hh93/JRanmann/Screenshot2010-07-27at74011PM.png

Actually IIRC, BMW engineers coined the phrase in the mid-seventies and it refers to a set of bolts used on the (straight six)

BMW M30 engine (and straight 4 cyl. engine for the 2002 motor) that holds the oiler tubes to the valve assembly

atop the head and under the valve cover.

What's unique about them is that oil flows thru the bolt itself and (as normal) the bolt is also threaded and under harsh extremes