LegacyGT.com

Leaking shock absorbers - many thanks in advance

lyh_chnxm

Hi guys

I went to change oil yesterday and mechanic told me that rear left shock is leaking. He said both left and right for the rear shocks need to be replaced. Since I am a student and don't have that much money in pocket, i want to keep it under $200(exclude labour) here is my thoughts:

2X KYB GR2 341353 rear shocks $94

But can I still keep old OEM for front shocks or i need to replace them also? My car is 05 2.5i.

GR2s are a good replacement for stock struts... good, basic parts.

You can keep the fronts for now, but chances are they may need to be replaced soon as well. Leaking is a sure sign of failure, but you shouldn't have to wait until then to replace them... they can wear out without leaking.

Again, you'll be fine with the fronts for now - save up to replace them soon.

GR2s are a good replacement for stock struts... good, basic parts.

You can keep the fronts for now, but chances are they may need to be replaced soon as well. Leaking is a sure sign of failure, but you shouldn't have to wait until then to replace them... they can wear out without leaking.

Again, you'll be fine with the fronts for now - save up to replace them soon.

Thanks so much! I have one more dumb question, will I get into trounble if I buy the rallitek springs but only change the rear shocks and rear springs? If it does't work, i will only change the shock and keep the stock spring for next few years:icon_frow

what website did you find those stuts at. Im goin to be in the market soon too.

Since i only drive it to school and work, I am not going to buy some shocks which is around $120 for rear and $200 for front. It is way too expensive. I heard KYB is good for OEM replacement and they are inexpensive, i think they will meet my needs.

amazon.com

one of their seller is selling rear for $47 each and front is $51 include shipping